The Sacraments

The sacraments the Church celebrates are signs of grace that make a deeper reality present to us. One reality we encounter through the sacraments is Christ's presence in the Church community, His body. This recognition of Christ's presence in the community should lead to a stronger awareness of being sent on a mission to engage in concrete, love-inspired action in the world.

There are seven sacraments in the Catholic Church. The sacrament of Holy Orders is reserved for men who have prepared themselves for the priesthood through discernment and education. Priests or deacons are ordained by the Bishop of the Diocese at the cathedral at the appropriate time. However, the remaining sacraments may be conferred here at St. Patrick.

Learn more about preparing for and receiving the sacraments below.

Sacrament of Baptism
Sacrament of Confirmation
Sacrament of Holy Communion or Eucharist
Sacrament of Matrimony
Sacrament of Reconciliation
Sacrament of Anointing

The Sacraments of the Catholic Church