History of St. Patrick Knights of Columbus Council 10567

It began with a single statement from Lou Colombo to Louis Muro. "Lou, you ought to start a Knights of Columbus Council at St. Patrick," Lou Colombo said.

The idea was born and Louis N. Muro turned it into reality. Armed with a notebook and a pen, Mr. Muro spent his time in the Fellowship Hall after Mass each Sunday signing up prospects for the "New Councl" as he called it. As a longtime member and Past Grand Knight of Council 4304 in Birmingham, Mr. Muro knew what a great Knights of Columbus Council could do for its parish and its parishioners.

The response was overwhelming and it didn't take long for St. Patrick to have its own Knights of Columbus Council, number 10567 in the long line of Councils born in the name of founder Father Michael J. McGivney. For his efforts, Mr. Muro was honored with the "Proposer of the Year" award for the state of Alabama.

Sixty-two men were present in the St. Patrick Fellowship Hall on March 17, 1991 (St. Patrick's Day believe it or not) for the First Degree ceremony and the Council was born. Mr. Muro served as the Charter Grand Knight but soon gave way to John T. Majerik, Council 10567's first full-time Grand Knight.

There is no way to measure the impact that Louis Muro's idea has had on St. Patrick and on the lives of its parishioners. Since that first day in 1991, the men of Council 10567 have performed hundreds of service projects and distributed thousands of dollars to good causes. They have exemplified characteristics as Catholic men that would make Louis Muro proud.

Louis Muro died in 1996 at the age of 78. But Council 10567 lives on as a tribute to him and to that dream he had a long time ago. 

Charter Grand Knight Louis N. Muro

The Birth of the Order

Charter Members

Listed below are the names of the original 62 members of St. Patrick Knights of Columbus Council 10567. 

Benny BakaneCharles BlanchardDale Blanchard
Richard BrasfieldCharles BrooksDonald Byrd
Earl CanolesBryant CollinsLouis Colombo
James CrandallWilmer De RouenJerry Frazier
Joe G. GiambroneJoseph J. GiambronePhillip Giambrone
Vince GiambroneNorman GugliottaLee Gunnin
James HavlikMichael HobeJohn Hramec
Phillip LaSusaJoe LocascioDenis Mackinaw
John MajerikTom MarksStephen McArdle
Mike MontabanaTony MontabanaEdward Moody
Steven MoodyEugene MoulinAlex Muro
Louis J. MuroLouis N. MuroRonnie Muro
Rev. Raymond MurrinPaul O’ConnorRichard O’Neill
William O’NeillCharles PerricottiCharles Perryman
James PooleJoseph PuccioWilliam Rollo
PascoRosatoLeo RussoDon Schatzer
Frank SlovenskyLouis SlovenskyHarold Smith
John SokiraSteve SokiraLouis Sullivan
Ramon TancincoRamon A. TancincoPhillip Troha
Alvin B Von HagelJohn WallacePhillip Whatley
Daniel WhitakerFloyd White 


Our Grand Knights

Louis N. Muro
John T. Majerik
Leo Russo
Lee Gunnin
Bryant Collins
Phil Slovensky
Tom Marks
Mike Muro
Dale Blanchard
Jerome C. Bradley
Tom Richardson
Louis J. Muro
Rob Smith
Chris Muro
Ronnie Muro
Mike Muro
Clay Reece
Larry Cannon
Greg Brasher
Gerald Kiker
William Boone
Mike Wehby, Jr.
James Nelson
Don Byrd
McCahill Smith
Jeff Blanchard

Charter Grand Knight
1992–1993, 1993-1994
1997-1998, 1998-1999
2002-2003, 2003-2004
2004-2005, 2005-2006
2011-2012, 2012-2013
2017-2018, 2018-2019
2019-2020, 2020-2021
2021-2022, 2022-2023