Hide other sections
History of St. Patrick Catholic Church

Here at the dawn of the twenty-first century, we remember the rich history of St. Patrick Catholic Church begun in the nineteenth century. The deep roots of faith planted in this area by our ancestors from many lands and cultures, who were one in their love for God, continue to enrich our lives.


Our parish came forth from four small churches, St. Catherine, Pratt City (established 1881), St. Michael, Brookside (established 1892), Immaculate Heart of Mary, Hillview (established 1938) and St. Raphael, Graysville (established 1963). These four churches are the foundation upon which we stand firm today.


In the mid 1970’s, due to the vision of the pastors and people of these churches, plans were begun to combine the parishes into one and build a new church to take our parish family into the future. Ground was broken on May 10, 1987 and the new church of St. Patrick was dedicated on January 24, 1988. For three years prior to this we celebrated Mass in the parish hall which was completed in the summer of 1984.


In the fall of 1996 ground was broken and construction was begun for our new family life center. The Father Raymond J. Murrin Family Life Center was dedicated on March 17, 1997. This building has further enhanced our parish life by providing space for the Religious Education Program from first grade through high school. SPIRIT - Saint Patrick’s Involved and Religiously Inspired Teens- continues to grow and thrive as part of our parish family. The first class gymnasium enables both young and old to participate in various sports events, including citywide basketball tournaments.


In July of 2008 we welcomed Father Vernon F. Huguley as our new pastor and under his inspiring leadership we continue our journey of faith.


St. Patrick’s is a loving, caring and active parish. Out of our continuing celebration of the liturgy we grow ever closer in the love of God and one another. We pray for God’s blessing upon all of us as we carry this rich history into the future.


This history would not be complete without acknowledging the years of work by our parish historian, Mabel Wallace, who diligently kept up with all events for so many years.